Blur oil filter

All things Genuine Blur

Moderator: Modern Buddy Staff

nickwhite44

Blur oil filter

Post by nickwhite44 »

OK, so I just took my new 2007 Blur into my dealer to get the first service. First, they charge an arm and a leg for the service - $120 for labor plus parts and supplies. They do this to sucker you into a "Plus Plan" which is $450 bucks for 2 years. The Plus Plan is your labor charges for everything you do on the scooter for two years - parts are still extra. I felt ripped off, but I'm not a mechanic and I don't really want to spend the time to learn. It's just not my thing you know? Anyway, I did the Plus Plan. Flash forward an hour and they're showing me the bill and the guy says "...and we didn't change the oil filter because the Blur doesn't have one." I said "Uhm, what? How could it not have an oil filter?" Answer: "Oh, well it just has a screen."

So I walk out of there completely baffled. They're wrong, right? What the hell should I do? There is an oil filter right?!

Nick
babblefish

Post by babblefish »

Yes, there is an oil filter and yes, you were ripped-off. :(

The oil filter is located right next to the oil cooler behind the plastic grill that is behind your front wheel. And in case it comes up, the retail price of the filter is about $22, but you can buy it online for about $10.

If they didn't change the oil filter, then you paid $120 for about 10 minutes of work because all they did was to remove the drain plug and drain the old oil, reinstall said drain plug (5 minutes, tops), remove fill plug, pour in a little less than one quart of oil, reinstall fill plug (5 minutes, tops).
Some people can break a crowbar in a sandbox.
jfrost2

Post by jfrost2 »

Yes and no.