Tire Pressure for Riding on Gravel

Discussion of the Genuine Buddy, Hooligan, Black Jack and other topics, both scooter related and not

Moderator: Modern Buddy Staff

coyotekathy

Tire Pressure for Riding on Gravel

Post by coyotekathy »

Howdy. Grandma newbie here with 256 miles on my new Buddy 170i. Made the purchase before doing ANY research; story of my life. My Buddy lives at the top of a long [200'] sloping [25 degree] gravel driveway. I am 5'2", 170 lbs. and changed out the seat to aftermarket so I'd be an inch closer to the ground. The tires are Michelin S83. I have followed threads on tire pressure all over the internet map, and, since selling my home and moving to the flatlands isn't practical, I would sure welcome some input specific to my situation. Such as: 1. what tire pressure is best on gravel, and 2. any advice on how to get down my driveway in one piece, and 3. is there a better tire for my situation? I otherwise will be doing mostly highway riding at speeds between 35 and 55 mph.? Thanks in advance for any and all comments and advice.
k1dude

Post by k1dude »

You won't want to hear this, but a scooter probably wasn't the best choice with a driveway like that. 25 degrees in gravel is not easy by any means.

If you have lots of dirt bike or mountain biking experience, gravel is no problem. But for a newbie, it's a big problem. If you were under 40, I'd tell you to get some experience offroad to learn how to ride gravel properly. But, I suspect you are older than that and I'm concerned you could really hurt yourself.

Usually you'll have a few wipeouts learning to ride sand, loose dirt over hardpack, and gravel. When you're younger and made of rubber, you roll when you hit the deck, jump back up, dust off, climb back on, and keep going. When you're older, you just break bones.

A tire with more aggressive lugs will help, especially uphill. Tire pressure isn't the issue. Skill is. The deeper the gravel is, the harder.