What's the right size Buddy for me?

Discussion of the Genuine Buddy, Hooligan, Black Jack and other topics, both scooter related and not

Moderator: Modern Buddy Staff

paul ben

What's the right size Buddy for me?

Post by paul ben »

Hi, I'm a farmer in central PA and I want a scooter that I can run around with doing chores. I'm 6'2" and weigh 230lbs. The hills are moderate rolling hills. I don't plan to do much highway driving except maybe a short trip into town very occasionally. My question is: which Buddy do I need to run around my farm and climb those moderate hills?

I know nothing about scooters but my research took me to Buddy so here I am. There's a Honda dealer near me but I think the bigger Honda scooters look awful. Buddy seems to have a solid reputation so here I am.
GregsBuddy

Post by GregsBuddy »

The 170i is a great all-rounder for me. YMMV
'09 Yamaha TMAX Large sport scoot.
Christophers

Post by Christophers »

Based on your size you might be more comfortable on a Hooligan instead of a Buddy.

http://www.genuinescooters.com/hooligan.html
If this is your first day with PSYCHO, you have to ride.
PhillyKick

Post by PhillyKick »

Welcome aboard! What part of Central PA, if I may ask? And will you be riding offroad (fields and such?)
paracer

Post by paracer »

Make sure you stop out at carlisle cycle and scooter. Bill and Carol have a great selection of scooters to see. Plenty of Genuine product in stock including the new Eclipse and 10th anniversary edition.

I would recommend a Buddy 125, personally.
paul ben

Post by paul ben »

PhillyKick wrote:Welcome aboard! What part of Central PA, if I may ask? And will you be riding offroad (fields and such?)
I'm near Bloomsburg. 90% of my riding will be over my farm fields. I like the Venture because of the big tires but at 240 pounds I'm concerned that I'm too big for a 50cc engine. Do you think that it would haul me up a modest hill, even slowly?
CountChocula

Post by CountChocula »