New Here and Tip for Rattling Handlebar Covers

Discussion of the Genuine Buddy, Hooligan, Black Jack and other topics, both scooter related and not

Moderator: Modern Buddy Staff

sem65

New Here and Tip for Rattling Handlebar Covers

Post by sem65 »

Hi Folks... This is my first post... I'm new to scooters and really loving my 2009 Buddy 150! I've been riding and working on motorcycles for 50 years, but I'm enjoying riding the scooter much more now! I just bought the Buddy a few weeks ago with only 2,450 miles on the clock. Its appearance is almost as new.

I do have a tip, if I may include it here. Until yesterday, the scooter had a nasty plastic rattle in the handlebar covers (cowls, shields, whatever) whenever I'd be sitting at idle. When I would push down lightly on the cover near the grips, the rattle would cease. I finally came upon my simple solution yesterday. I cut two one inch strips from a rubber band (about a 1/4 wide rubber band). I removed the four screws from beneath the covers so I cut just barely push the covers apart. I then inserted a rubber band, doubled up and pushed up with a screw driver, in between the covers. It formed a nice gasket that immediately stopped the rattling. Hope this might be of help to someone. In the attached pic, you can see how the band is inserted. I hadn't trimmed them yet.

Happy Scootering!
Attachments
rubberband.jpg
rubberband.jpg (30.11 KiB) Viewed 714 times
sc00ter

Post by sc00ter »

Both of my Buddy's had a slight rattle at idle from the handle bar cowling. I took them off and used Dyna Mat like material underneath to quiet them. Worked great and taught me how to remove the cowl.
sem65

Post by sem65 »