First timer changing his oil

Discussion of the Genuine Buddy, Hooligan, Black Jack and other topics, both scooter related and not

Moderator: Modern Buddy Staff

BoulderBud

First timer changing his oil

Post by BoulderBud »

I just hit 300 miles and am getting ready to do my first gear and motor oil changes. I would love to get some sage advice.

I was going to buy a Prima filter with the hex top from Amazon, and some oil from O'Reilly's. The gear oil seems like an easier decision than the engine oil. I would love some advice on what to use. Leaning towards a gallon of just good quality 10/40 or a gallon of synthetic blend for the first 4 changes.

I was not planning on trying to put oil in the filter first, since it's my first time and it seems messy and perhaps unnecessary.(it seems the cylinder might have a coating of oil on the surfaces to provide enough lubricant until the new oil passes thru the filter) I don't have a torque wrench but I know how important it is to not set the filter too loose(doesn't sound too tough, about 3/4 turn past hand tight).

Also, below is some advice From a couple years ago on MB that I thought was good. Is it?

Please feel free to give either beginner or advanced tips. I'm still a real rookie, and an avid(obsessed) reader of MB.

Thank you,
TK

MB~2011
Before you unscrew your drain plugs, mark them and the hole with a marker or nail polish or something (just like the fill hole/plastic plug is marked), so you can see how far you need to tighten them when you put them back in.

For both the plugs and the filter, before you take them off, loosen them half a turn, then try turning them back to the same spot to get a gauge on how much pressure you'll need to use when tightening it.

Once they're both back on after the oil change, mark the filter's position, too. (I just put a vertical line down the front of it.)

Then from time to time, do a quick visual check to see if they have wriggled loose.
skully93

Post by skully93 »