the "it's not if but WHEN" talk, from older folks

Discussion of the Genuine Buddy, Hooligan, Black Jack and other topics, both scooter related and not

Moderator: Modern Buddy Staff

bimbom

the "it's not if but WHEN" talk, from older folks

Post by bimbom »

I'm in my mid twenties. I ride a Buddy 125 and am most likely going to get a small motorcycle (not sure yet).

I frequently hear older friends saying "it's not if you crash, but when..."

Obviously it's hard to get that out of my head. I drove a car for 5 years and had one minor accident which wasn't my fault. I like to think I'm a careful driver, especially on two wheels, where I try to anticipate every possible stupid thing someone could do when they are near me.

My neighbor used to ride (hes in his 50s) and said he would hop right on my scooter right now if he didn't have a kid. He said he used to ride motorcycles and had one accident where he broke a rib and messed up some skin. I can tell he would love to ride, but has acquired some kind of wisdom from experience, and is trying to tell me something. He had a friend who a while back was riding in NYC when a cab u-turned right into him, killing him instantly. His friend was speeding a bit.

Almost eerily the same day I was talking to a guy in his 60s who rides a Honda 1300cc motorcycle. He says sure he's scared and he thinks it's really dangerous but that he just couldn't afford his SUV anymore and this thing parks easy.

I hate to think I'm at the mercy of other drivers, even though I am. My favorite time to ride is early morning when nobody is out. I'd like to think my skill is the only thing between me being safe and me getting into an accident. And there is a freedom acquired during riding in those times that I haven't been able to acquire doing anything else.

Just some thoughts that have been bothering me recently.
tortoise

Post by tortoise »